Images from Titans Training Camp 8-3-15


Former Overton star Dezmond Johnson is in training camp with the Titans. Photo by Mike Strasinger

Former Overton star Dezmond Johnson is in training camp with the Titans. Photo by Mike Strasinger

The Nashville Area now has at least seven former high school athletes on NFL rosters. Recently signed former MBA star Brad Bars (Penn State) joins former Ensworth great Orleans Darkwa (Tulane) with the New York Giants.  Also from Ensworth, in his 3rd year of the NFL, is long-snapper Kevin McDermott (UCLA) now with the Minnesota Vikings, while Dezmond Johnson (Duke) from Overton High School, a rookie, is in camp with the Tennessee Titans, and Wesley Johnson (Vanderbilt) from MBA is in his 2nd year with the New York Jets.

King Dunlap (Auburn) from Brentwood Academy enters his 8th NFL season, his 3rd with the San Diego Chargers, and Golden Tate (Notre Dame) from Pope John Paul II is now with the Detroit Lions in his 6th NFL season. Tate was recently voted by his peers as one of the top 100 players in the NFL.

Did I forget someone? Let me know at

The Division I regional football alignments for the 2015 and 2016 season were approved by the TSSAA Board of Control on November 13, 2014.

The new classifications bring back an old playoff format with a twist. The top 4 teams in each region will qualify for the playoffs except in Class 6 A where all 32 teams qualify for post-season play regardless of record. TSSAA col WO CIR [Final-Outlines]

The new system shifts some teams into games against unfamiliar opponents which should lead to a most interesting season. Regular season play begins the week of August 21st. Get out and support your favorite team this season!!

Click below to see the regions.

Continue Reading


From Vanderbilt Athletics –

The Vanderbilt men’s basketball non-conference schedule for the upcoming season has been completed with what promises to be an exciting and challenging slate for a Commodores’ team that returns four starters from a 2014-15 team that won 21 games and seven out of their last nine and advanced to the NIT Quarterfinals.

Head coach Kevin Stallings, entering his 17th season at Vanderbilt, has 11 letterwinners returning to the fold this year, including junior center Damian Jones, who was a first-team All-SEC and All-SEC Defensive team a year ago, and a pair of guards, Wade Baldwin IV and Riley LaChance, who were named to the SEC All-Freshman team in 2014-15.

The Commodores, who will begin their season on November 13 against Austin Peay at Memorial Gym, will face off against at least five opponents that advanced to the NCAA Tournament in 2015, and could face more at the Maui Jim Maui Invitational November 23-25.  Other teams that advanced to the 2015 postseason include Gardner Webb, who advanced to the CBI last season, and Stony Brook and Western Michigan, who each made the CIT in 2015. Continue Reading


Nashville, Tenn. (July 27, 2015) – Nashville Predators President of Hockey Operations/General Manager David Poile announced today that the club has signed restricted free agent Colin Wilson to a four-year, $15.75 million contract. Wilson will be paid $3.75 million in 2015-16, then $4 million in 2016-17, 2017-18 and 2018-19 for an average annual value of $3.9375 million.


Wilson, 25 (10/20/89), set career highs in goals (20) and points (42), while tying a personal best in assists (22) in 2014-15. The Greenwich, Conn., native also led the team and set a career high in plus/minus rating (+19), and tied a career high and ranked third on the Predators in game-winning goals (5). During the 2015 Stanley Cup Playoffs, the 6-1, 216-pounder set franchise records for goals (5) and power-play goals (4) in a playoff series during the Western Conference Quarterfinals vs. Chicago. In 368 career NHL contests since 2009-10, Wilson has 178 points (77g-101a).


Nashville’s first choice, seventh overall (first round), in 2008 Entry Draft, Wilson won an NCAA title in 2008-09 with Boston University (Hockey East) – his final season before turning professional, earning 2009 USA Hockey College Player of the Year, Inside College Hockey Player of the Year and being named one of three Hobey Baker “Hat Trick” Finalists in the process. He has represented the United States on the international level five times, being named Team USA’s Most Outstanding Player at the 2009 World Junior Championship, tying for the goal-scoring lead at 2008 World Junior Championship, winning a gold medal at the 2006 Under-18 World Championship while tying for the tournament scoring lead (5g-7a), and earning a silver medal at the 2007 Under-18s.

Look for Pearl-Cohn at MBA August 28th

Look for Pearl-Cohn at MBA August 28th

Eagerly looking ahead to the 2015 High School Football Season in the Nashville area, I have complied my choices for the 2015 season’s “can’t miss” games from week to week. I think these will be the most competitive and entertaining that week has to offer. I chose the games based on traditional rivalries, past game histories, and some new possible storylines based on new classifications or coaching changes. This list is completely my opinion, and I’m sure I missed some games the reader might choose, but feel free to comment or let me know your choices. I also may have missed some games due to incomplete available schedules. Mark your calendars and get out to support your favorite!!


Mike Strasinger


Week 1

Hillsboro vs Pearl-Cohn

Maplewood vs Stratford

Cane Ridge at Antioch

Hillwood at Father Ryan

Brentwood vs Independence

Centennial vs Franklin

Ravenwood vs Siegel

Continue Reading



The schedule for the 47th Metro Nashville High School Football Jamboree has been set. Matchups are scheduled for three sites, with each team playing two quarters. Admission is $6.

Thursday, Aug. 13, 7 p.m. at Maplewood: Pearl-Cohn vs. Stratford; Hunters Lane vs. Maplewood.

Friday, Aug. 14, 6 p.m. at Cane Ridge: Hillwood vs. Antioch; Mt. Juliet Christian vs. Glencliff; Whites Creek vs. Cane Ridge.

Saturday, Aug. 15, 7 p.m. at Overton: Hillsboro vs. McGavock; East Nashville vs. Overton.

The Tennessee High School Soccer Coaches Association released the 2015 All-State Team


D1  A/AA 2015 All State


Jon Creel Jr. CAK

Ibrahima Dia Sr. Sheffield

Niklas Stehnck Jr. Chucky Doak

Noah Jordan Sr. Berean

Luis Vital Sr. Whitehouse

Will Patton Sr. CCS


Zavior Phillips Jr. Central Magnet

Jacob Metkler Sr. Page

Porter Black Sr. CCS.

Dallas Dunn Sr. CAK

Harrison Myers Jr. CPA

Alec McKenzie Sr. Knox Catholic

John Beasley Jr. Boyd Buchanan

Matt Zaczyk Soph. CAK

David Ingram Jr. Boyd Buchanan


Jake Brown Sr. CPA

Matthew Tomlin Sr. Madison

Owen Clark Jr. White House

John Barbosa Sr. CSAS

WilliamWhitaker Sr. CPA

Goal Keepers

Taylor Bailey Sr. Greeneville

Walker Hagan Sr. CPA

Continue Reading