MNPS Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2017 Announced

Posted on Nov 13 2016 - 10:07pm by Mike Strasinger

MNPS Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2017 Includes Eight Legends

The Metro Nashville Public Schools Sports Hall of Fame will induct its 13th class on April 11, 2017, during a gala luncheon and ceremony at Nissan Stadium.  The 2017 class includes eight legends of Nashville high school sports.

Tim Dobbins – The Glencliff football star played linebacker at Iowa State and nine seasons in the NFL.

Charlie Fentress – A multi-sport star at Cohn High in the 1950’s, Fentress played baseball and basketball for Belmont.

Chris Gaines – The DuPont High football legend steamrolled opponents as a tailback and quarterback in high school and earned 1st team All-American honors as a Vanderbilt linebacker before playing professionally in the NFL and CFL.

Walter Jordan – one of the all-time great Nashville defensive backs, the Stratford Spartan led Vanderbilt in interceptions in 1978.

Catherine Miller-Bowers – As a Whites Creek Cobra, she won state championships in Track & Field, including the 1982 Pentathlon in which she scored an unbelievable 4,555 points – a record that still stands.  In college, she ran one of Arizona State’s all-time fastest times in the 400m Hurdles.

Jeff Powell – A track and field all-state performer at Whites Creek, winning the state championship in 110m Hurdles and 300m Hurdles, his 110m Hurdles time at the state meet has not been eclipsed in the 35 years since. He earned All-American honors in Track & Field in college at William & Mary and Tennessee and scored a dramatic touchdown in Tennessee’s Sugar Bowl victory following the 1985 season.

Coach Joe Shapiro – A legend among legends, Coach Shapiro’s long and stellar career is marked by state championships at West High.

Coach Sam Smith – The track at Whites Creek High school bears his name where he earned his reputation for training the best female track athletes in Tennessee and winning state championships. 

For more information, contact the Chair of MNPS Sports Hall of Fame Committee, Monae Fletcher (

Leave A Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.