2017 Moss-Oliver Award Winners Named at Luncheon.

Posted on Apr 19 2017 - 2:47pm by Mike Strasinger


Clay Washburn, CPA and Dorie Harrison, Hillsboro

Nashville, Tn

Following another awesome lunch at the always-amazing Swett’s restaurant, the Nashville City Civitan Club announced the winners of the 2017 Moss-Oliver Award.

This year’s recipients are Dorie Harrison of Hillsboro High School and Clay Washburn of Christ Presbyterian Academy.

The Moss-Oliver Award is named after William Henry Oliver and J.E. Moss, both past presidents of the Nashville City Civitan club and longtime Middle Tennessee educators. They were co-superintendents of Metro Nashville Public Schools at the beginning of Metro Nashville.

First presented in 1985, this annual award recognizes the top male and female scholar-athlete in basketball in a Davidson County High School. Athletic ability. academic achievement, leadership skills, and community service are the criteria used to select the finalists and eventual winners.

Each high school in Davidson County is welcome to submit a male and female nominee.

The 2017 Finalists:

Boys- Clay Washburn, CPA; Eric Jordan II, Ezell-Harding; Kevin Benjamin Feldman, Nashville Christian School

Girls – Savannah LeGate, CPA; Dorie Harrison, Hillsboro; Sonja Keeton Shelton, Nashville Christian School.

Leave A Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.