East Nashville’s Brian Darnell Thompson, Jr. Wins 2017 Hume Award, Metro Nashville Football’s Top Honor

Posted on Dec 6 2017 - 3:35pm by Mike Strasinger

Finalists L to R – Jacob Daniel King, Overton; Jaylan Alaysius Granberry, Pearl-Cohn/MLK; Brian Darnell Thompson Jr., East Nashville; James Tyler Murphy, Glencliff; Jared Deon McCray, Cane Ridge – Photos by Mike Strasinger

Nashville Tn.

The 2017 William E. Hume Award was handed out today by the Economic Club of Nashville, following a luncheon at the Patron Club inside Bridgestone Arena. This year’s winner is Brian Darnell Thompson, Jr. of East Nashville High School. The award is Metro Nashville Football’s top honor and goes to the student/athlete from Metro Schools that best exemplifies, scholarship, sportsmanship, individual performance, and his value to the team. Each Metro school submits one candidate chosen by the principal and football coach, and a committee of administrators and sportswriters select five finalists and an eventual winner. The Hume Award has been handed out by various Nashville Civic organizations since 1944. Past winners have gone on to become some of Nashville’s finest citizens.

The 2017 Candidates

Jonathan Hayes, Antioch High School

Jared Deon McCray, Cane Ridge High School*

Brian Darnell Thompson, Jr., East Nashville High School*

Brian Darnell Thompson, Jr of East Nashville High School , the 2017 Hume Award Winner

James Tyler Murphy, Glencliff High School*

Torrance Anthony, Hillsboro High School

Andrew S. Black, Hillwood High School

Shaheem Jordan-Jones, Hunters Lane High School

Michael Jermaine Brown, Maplewood High School

Carson Jake Richardson, McGavock High School

Jacob Daniel King, Overton High School*

Jaylan Alaysius Granberry, Pearl-Cohn/M.L.KingJr. High Schools

Robert Miracle Myles Lilley-Sneed, Stratford High School

Joseph Cole, Whites Creek High School*






Leave A Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.